Quest for Running Songs, Week 2: “Yin Yang”

Although I’ve added a few new songs to my Shuffle, nothing has hugely inspired me yet so I’m pulling this week’s song out of my favourites list because it’s by a Canadian band that I think many people might not have heard of: USS (Ubiquitous Synergy Seeker).

Last year I signed up for a Spring 10K race to ease back into running after a bit of a knee problem through the fall and winter. Halfway through the race, this song came on and gave me that wicked mid-race boost I needed – so much so that I played it a few times in a row and occasionally burst out singing along. (Yes, I was that girl.)

I love how the laidback feel of the verses helps me relax into my stride, and then the chorus breaks into a raw energy that charges me up with these lyrics:

I got infinite ammunition
Coming out the yin yang
I got limitless stealth positions
Extract the champion

Give it a listen and see what you think.


Proud member of:
teamrunningfree_logo2

Leave a Reply

