Quest for Running Songs, Week 1: “Running For Your Life”

In my quest for new running music for 2015, I’ve decided to start posting some of my favourite running songs as I search for new tunes to add to the Shuffle. I’m not talking about the usual “Mony, Mony”, “Born to Run” list. I’m talking stuff that’s a little newer, and maybe a little less likely to be hitting people’s radars. Yes, I know you elite runners don’t need music to get you through long runs, but I do! My hope is that if I post enough of these, eventually some of you fellow runners will help me out by sharing your favourites with me, too.

So, to get this started, here’s my song of the week:

“Running For Your Life” by Dirty Heads

We all know running is at least as much about mental strength as it is about physical strength, and sometimes the right song can re-ignite our Inner Fighter voice just when our tired legs are starting to drown it out. For me, what makes a great running song isn’t so much whether or not the beat matches my pace, but rather if the lyrics energize and inspire me.

This song is all about seizing the day and squeezing everything we can out of every moment. I have two favourite lines:

Tell the reaper to his face, ‘I ain’t scared of you.’

and

Running for your life, don’t waste it, the moment’s never right so make it.

Dirty J from Dirty Heads elaborates: “A lot of people think ‘Oh the moment’s not right.. I’m not going to take this chance, I’m too scared…’ If the moment’s not right, don’t leave it to fate, don’t leave it to luck, fuckin’ make it right. Find something in that moment, and do something about it.”

I can’t tell you how many times this song has given me a burst of energy just when I needed it most. It’s kind of like a GU gel for the mind. 🙂


Proud member of:
teamrunningfree_logo2

Leave a Reply

